Regulatory Focus™ > News Articles > 2020 > 1 > RAPS 2020 Board Begins Term, Welcomes Trautman, Pokrop and Hoekstra

RAPS 2020 Board Begins Term, Welcomes Trautman, Pokrop and Hoekstra

Posted 23 January 2020 | By Zachary Brousseau 

RAPS 2020 Board Begins Term, Welcomes Trautman, Pokrop and Hoekstra

Clockwise from top left: Trautman, Pokrop and Hoekstra

The RAPS board of directors of officially began its 2020 term on 1 January. Don Boyer, a former top Health Canada official who is now a private regulatory consultant, is serving his second year as chairman. Boyer’s term was extended from one to two years when the RAPS board officers’ structure was changed by member vote in November. The term of the board president was also increased to two years, and the president-elect position was eliminated.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to continue to serve as RAPS board chairman this year and excited to build on the great successes of last year,” said Boyer. “As both a longtime RAPS member and a former regulator, I know well the vital role RAPS plays in supporting our important profession to help make healthcare products safe, effective and available. The new two-year terms for the board chairman and president will strengthen the organization through improved leadership continuity and better follow-through on key initiatives.”

Three new directors join the board this year. They are:

Kimberly Trautman, MS, served as senior official at the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for nearly 25 years, most recently as associate director for international affairs in the office of the director of the Center for Devices and Radiological Health. She is currently executive vice president of medical device international services with NSF International.

Frank Pokrop, RAC, FRAPS, CQE, CISA, has worked in the medical device arena for more than 20 years. He is currently senior director for regulatory affairs and quality assurance at Sotera Wireless in San Diego. His prior experience covers manufacturing quality assurance for large and small volume parenteral drugs.

Sabina Hoekstra-van den Bosch, PharmD, FRAPS, is founder and principal of EUMD Consultancy, specializing in regulatory advice to the healthcare products industry. She has 20 years of experience as a pharmaceutical and medical device regulator in the Dutch government, serving subsequently in the Medicines Evaluation Board, Ministry of Health and CCMO.

The complete list of the 2020 RAPS board officers and directors follows below:

Chairman of the Board
  • Don Boyer, BSc, RAC, FRAPS, president, BOYER@RegulatorySolns
  • Glenn N. Byrd, MBA, RAC, President, GByrd Ad-Promo Solutions, LLC
  • Gert Bos, PhD, FRAPS, executive director and partner, Qserve Group
  • David E. Chadwick, PhD, RAC, FRAPS, director of regulatory affairs and regulatory science, Cook Medical
  • Paul Brooks, executive director, RAPS
  • Carol Cooper, MS, IM(ASCP), RM(AAM), founder and principal, CM Cooper and Associates
  • Raina Dauria, MS, RAC, vice president, regulatory affairs, Cardiovascular and Specialty Solutions Group, Johnson & Johnson
  • Jethro Ekuta, DVM, PhD, RAC, FRAPS, vice president, global regulatory affairs, Alexion Pharmaceuticals Inc.
  • Laila Gurney, MSc, RAC, Senior Executive, global quality and regulatory, GE Healthcare
  • Sabina Hoekstra-van den Bosch, PharmD FRAPS, principal, EUMD Consultancy
  • Frank Pokrop, RAC, FRAPS, CQE, CISA, director, regulatory affairs, Sotera Wireless
  • Diana K. Salditt, FRAPS, senior program director, regulatory advocacy and policy, Medtronic
  • Nancy Singer, JD, LLM, RAC, FRAPS, founder, Compliance-Alliance LLC
  • Susan Stewart, JD, RAC, FRAPS, senior vice president, regulatory affairs and quality, Kaleido Biosciences Inc.
  • Kimberly Trautman, executive vice president of medical device international services, NSF International


© 2021 Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society.

Regulatory Focus newsletters

All the biggest regulatory news and happenings.