Regulatory Focus™ > News Articles > Outstanding Contributions Deserve Outstanding Recognition

Outstanding Contributions Deserve Outstanding Recognition

Posted 26 April 2012 | By Joy Frestedt, PhD, CCTI, RAC

Nominations are now open for RAPS awards, which go to regulatory professionals with diverse, global backgrounds.

The RAPS Awards Committee is currently seeking nominations for RAPS' annual awards honoring outstanding regulatory professionals in the healthcare products sector. RAPS' awards programs provide an important opportunity to acknowledge outstanding individual contributors to the regulatory field. This year, the committee has made significant improvements to the nomination process, including new, easier-to-use forms, making nominations less burdensome for nominators.

Now it is your turn to recognize the people who are making outstanding contributions to our profession. Awards are selected based upon the following categories:

The Richard E. Greco Award is the highest honor bestowed by RAPS to recognize an outstanding leader who has made significant contributions to the regulatory profession and who exemplifies personal involvement and commitment to RAPS or within his or her own community. Richard Greco founded RAPS and is credited with foreseeing the need for a society to represent a profession that grew quickly when the Medical Device Amendments were enacted in 1976. He worked with a small group of volunteers to create the society, establish career paths for regulatory professionals, open dialogue with the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and build professional development training and education. Last year, the Greco Award was given to Susan Alpert, who recently retired from her role as chief regulatory officer at Medtronic.

The Global Leadership Award recognizes a professional whose leadership and contributions advance regulation and the regulatory profession and increase awareness of RAPS worldwide. In 2011, the award went to Yan Liang, senior advisor for regulation and international affairs, Shanghai Municipal Food and Drug Administration (SMFDA) in Shanghai, China.

The New Professional Award honors an individual with less than five years regulatory experience for special accomplishments or exceptional service in the profession and to RAPS. In 2011,the award went to M. Jason Brooke, an associate in Epstein Becker Green's Washington, DC, law office.

The Special Recognition Award recognizes unique contributions and achievements of individuals who advance the quality of health and regulatory and demonstrate special service to RAPS. In 2011, theawardwent to Nancy Singer, founder of Compliance-Alliance.

The Leonard Stauffer Award recognizes exceptional contributions to mentoring and furthering regulatory professional education development, including special achievements related the Regulatory Affairs Certification (RAC). Nanci Dexter, an independent global regulatory affairs and quality assurance consultant, received the Leonard Staffer Award most recently in 2009.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award is a new award established in 2011 by RAPS chapters to recognize the vital efforts of members at the local level. In 2011, the Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Andrea Chamblee, director of compliance policy in FDA's Office of Enforcement.

To nominate someone please visit If you have questions or need any assistance with the nomination process contact Alex Cooper, associate director, member relations at

Categories: RAPS' Latest

Regulatory Focus newsletters

All the biggest regulatory news and happenings.