Regulatory Focus™ > News Articles > RAPS Honors Regulatory Leaders With Two New Awards

RAPS Honors Regulatory Leaders With Two New Awards

Posted 17 August 2017 | By Zachary Brousseau 

RAPS Honors Regulatory Leaders With Two New Awards

RAPS will honor two groups of exemplary regulatory leaders next month at its annual Regulatory Convergence conference, being held at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center at National Harbor on the Washington, DC, waterfront 9–12 September. Four outstanding individuals who have had a profound impact on the regulatory profession during their careers will be the inaugural recipients of the Founder’s Award, the profession’s highest honor. Three honorees will be the first-ever recipients of the Community Leadership Award. All awardees were selected by a group of high-level regulatory peers.

Founder’s Award recipients have shaped regulatory policy and practice; made a positive impact on the profession through education and mentoring; volunteered time to leadership pursuits such as serving on the RAPS board or Fellows program; promoted healthcare and patient well-being; advanced regulatory agility and raised awareness of the value of regulatory. The 2017 recipients are:

  • Susan Alpert, MD, PhD, FRAPS, principal, SFA Consulting LLC
  • Junshi Chen, MD, head, International Life Sciences Institute Focal Point, China
  • Agnes Klein, MD, senior medical advisor in the Director General’s Office, Health Canada
  • Murray “Mac” Lumpkin, MD, deputy director integrated development, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

The Community Leadership Award recognizes RAPS members who have built networks and supported regulatory professionals in their communities. Awardees have acted as RAPS ambassadors; engaged in chapter or local activities, including networking and outreach, for at least three years; and partnered with other organizations to further the profession. The 2017 recipients are:

  • Kimberly Belsky, senior director, regulatory policy and intelligence, Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals
  • Jacqueline Monteiro, RAC, director, regulatory affairs, APAC – Dental Platform, KAVO Kerr
  • Michelle Ragozzino, PhD, regulatory affairs manager, Cordis Corporation

“The RAPS community is full of extraordinary people who deserve to be celebrated for the way they tie together excellence in their work with a dedication to the RAPS mission,” said Todd Chermak, chairman of the RAPS board of directors, and divisional vice president of Innovation and Development, Abbott Established Pharmaceuticals. “We see the elevation and celebration of leaders in the community as a way to not only recognize those doing exceptional work right now, but also inspire members to spread the mission through a greater level of excellence in the future.”

Awardees will be recognized during the Regulatory Convergence opening plenary session on 10 September.

Categories: RAPS' Latest

Regulatory Focus newsletters

All the biggest regulatory news and happenings.